Friday, June 5, 2020

Offshore Achievement Award winners Announced

March 24, 2018

From left to right John Fraser (Sparrows Group), Laura Steedman (BP), Ray Riddoch (Nexen Petroleum U.K. Limited) Photo courtesy of SPE Aberdeen

Winners of the 2018 Offshore Achievement Awards were announced last night {22 March} in a celebration of industry talent, innovation and enthusiasm.

The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section revealed the 11 winners to an audience of more than 450 people, with categories covering technology innovation, company performance and individual achievement across the UK offshore energy sector.
Ray Riddoch, UK managing director at Nexen was named this year’s Significant Contribution winner thanks to three decades of shaping and influencing the offshore energy industry. Other individual winners included John Fraser of Sparrows Group for Above & Beyond, Laura Steedman of BP for Young Professional and Alan Higgins, who received a Special Recognition Award for his efforts in education and promoting STEM subject.
BiSN collected two awards on the night; the Innovator Award and the Great Company (SME) Award. Entier collected the Great Company (Large) accolade.
Further award winners included Guardian Global Technologies, Osbit Ltd, Coretrax Technology and Score (Europe) Ltd. Two winners were announced for the Collaboration Award, BP & Subsea 7, and Connected Competence.
SPE Aberdeen Section Awards were also presented to two members; Brenda Wyllie, for her transformation of the annual DEVEX conference and Graham Skinner, for his outstanding efforts visiting schools to promote careers in the energy industry.
Ian Phillips, chairman of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “Last night’s award ceremony showcased the impressive work by some very talented people in our industry and highlighted the importance of celebrating achievement in the UKCS.
“Award entries were received from across the UK, from over 100 companies involved in the offshore oil and gas and renewables sectors. This is an increase of more than 50% on last year, which is heartening and perhaps a sign of some recovery following the downturn.
“As ever, our judges had a considerable challenge when it came to selecting our winners, and I would like to extend my thanks and congratulations to all shortlisted companies and individuals. You can be justifiably proud that your success has been recognised by a knowledgeable group of industry peers.”
This year’s Significant Contribution Award winner, Ray Riddoch, has more than 30 years of industry experience. During his career, Ray has worked for Occidental Petroleum, and subsequently Elf, as an Offshore Installation Manager on two North Sea installations before becoming Field Manager for the Piper and Saltire fields.
He was then appointed operations manager for Total E&P UK’s Elgin Franklin field, followed by an appointment to the company’s executive committee as HSEA director. Ray then joined Nexen in 2011, moving through various roles prior to becoming managing director in 2015. He is also currently energy director at Scottish Chamber of Commerce, operator co-chair of the board of Oil and Gas UK and a director of the Oil and Gas Technology Centre (OGTC).
Significant Contribution winner, Ray Riddoch, said: “I am honoured to have received this year’s Significant Contribution Award. It is truly humbling to be recognised by SPE and my peers out of all the outstanding people we have working in this industry in Aberdeen.”
Donald Taylor, managing director at principal sponsor TAQA Europe said: “The Offshore Achievement Awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise and celebrate the successes of those businesses and individuals that are leading the way, as we look towards the future. 
“Once again the strength, creativity and ambition we continue to see in the oil and gas and renewable industries has shone through.  The winners include a diverse range of significant achievements; a clear demonstration of how much the industry is still driving forward, finding innovative solutions and efficiencies.”
The 2018 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:
Emerging Technology Awards - Sponsored by Oil & Gas Innovation Centre (OGIC)
WINNER – Guardian Global Technologies
Innovator Award - Sponsored by the Oil & Gas Technology Centre (OGTC)
 HSE Innovation Award - Sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership
WINNER – Osbit Ltd
Export Achievement Award – Sponsored by the Energy Industries Council (EIC)
WINNER – Coretrax Technology Ltd
Collaboration Award - Sponsored by Nexen
WINNER – BP & Subsea 7
WINNER - Connected Competence
Outstanding Skills Development Programme Award
WINNER – Score (Europe) Ltd
Young Professional Award
WINNER – Laura Steedman, BP
HIGHLY COMMENDED – Chris Stewart, Expro; Jennifer Brown, Nexen Petroleum U.K Limited; Lyndsey Thomas, Nexen Petroleum U.K. Limited
Above & Beyond Award
WINNER – John Fraser, Sparrows Group
Great Company Award (SME) - Sponsored by Wood
Great Company Award (Large)
WINNER – Entier Limited
Significant Contribution Award - Sponsored by Aker Solutions
WINNER – Ray Riddoch, Nexen Petroleum U.K. Limited

Related News